Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Review

During our five-day vacation in Vienna, we stayed at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel. For those of you who donโ€™t know, I run my own company of luxury villa rentals & yachts in Mykonos, so my eyes are well trained in attention to detail when it comes to luxury accomodation and top-notch service. And Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom provided it all.

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is ideally located within a 10 minutes walk to the historic center and major sights of Vienna, in an exceptional building designed by French architect Jean Nouvel. A very modern hotel, which is actually a work of art in itself.

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Review

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

First of all, I always appreciate a nice welcome and a seemless check-in procedure, like the one we had at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel. And we really had a vip treatment. Our request for a room on the highest floor of the hotel was immediately accommodated and they gave us a beautiful room on the 17th flloor, enjoying a spectacular view to Vienna. I was impressed by the impeccable cleanliness of our room and the hotel in general. We were welcomed with a bottle of fine champagne, flowers, chocolates, fresh fruit and macarons, along with a lovely welcome note from Claudia from the concierge team. Whatโ€™s more, the spacious corian bathtub of our white, minimalist design room was already full with water, bath salt and rose petals.

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Review

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Room

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Review

I really enjoyed finding Claudiaโ€™s hand-written notes every day in our room, to confirm our requests. This is the most efficient concierge team I have ever met (after Mykonos Gold of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) as they managed to meet all our needs, which can be very challenging for last minute requests, moreover during the busy week around New Yearโ€™s Eve. Our last minute calls for transfers, restaurant bookings and private tours were met in minutes, and always with a smile! The first night, a few hours after our arrival, they were even capable of finding my allergy medicine, without prescription, after midnight, and just in few minutes!

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Review

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Review

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Review

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom bathrooms

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Room View

Stella Asteria

Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom View

On the 18th floor of Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, is located their bar restaurant ยซDas Loftยป. This place stepped up the game so much as it was pretty impossible to find a better place to dine and have drinks in Vienna, after being there. Most probably there are, but when you find this gem as a visitor of the city, you donโ€™t search for more. Especially when you can enjoy spectacular, 360ยฐ panoramic views to Vienna. The kaleidoscopic colors of the amazing ceiling, designed by multimedia artist Pipilotti Rist, were mesmerising. No wonder why the waiting lines for Das Loft were so big, day and night.

We were lucky to have reserved a table for the New Yearโ€™s Eve early in advance, as the place was fully booked. When I expressed my worries to the manager of the restaurant regarding my impromptu allergy, on which doctors suggested me to avoid eating cheese, red wine and other foods high on histamine, their Chef was so efficient to prepare for me a special menu for New Yearโ€™s Eve dinner.

Which brings me to the most amazing New Yearโ€™s Eve we have ever had. The dinner started at 7:30 pm and consisted of an eight-course menu with accompanying wines. I was advised to avoid only red wine, but they took it to another level, by serving me different wintes all night long, even on white ones, which were low histamine wines, like Sauvignon Blanc. The magnificent fireworks were already popping in the sky above the entire Vienna.

Das Loft Bar Restaurant Sofitel Vienna View from Das Loft Bar Restaurant Sofitel Vienna Das Loft Bar Restaurant Sofitel Vienna Das Loft Bar Restaurant Sofitel Vienna

I also spent a good time at their Spa. I really enjoyed both face and body treatments, and I felt like I had a 20 hour sleep after the best massage I have ever had (ask for Tatjana)! Manicure, not so good but ok.

Another thing I really appreciate is soundproffing. I was a bit worried that we got a room on the 17th floor with Das Loft bar restaurant on the 18th. But their soundproffing was beyond expectation. We couldnโ€™t hear a signle noise, not even when we got back to our room after New Yearโ€™s Eve, with a party still on upstairs!

The breakfast buffet could be a bit more copious, however they had a great ร  la carte menu for breakfast as well.

The staff of this beautiful hotel has been extremelly helpful and kind, from the reception desk to the room service and concierge.

At last but not at least, during my stay in luxury hotels, I am always looking to learn something new that will benefit me on my work. And I sure found out new things and beautiful ideas that I would gladly apply to my company too.

Thank you Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom for making our trip to Vienna memorable! We will definitely come back. Chapeau!

Follow:

65 Comments

  1. 11/01/2017 / 16:45

    This seems like an amazing place to stay! I’ve been wanting to visit Vienna for years now, and I still haven’t been there though it is right next to Switzerland… Shame on me! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for sharing this experience, the pictures are amazing! And love your New Year’s Eve outfit by the way ๐Ÿ™‚

    xx

    Claire from Dresscape
    http://www.dresscape.com

    • Stella Asteria
      11/01/2017 / 17:02

      Hi Claire, how are you my dear? Hope you both have a great start to the new year! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really recommend Vienna, especially around the time of Christmas and New Year’s holidays. And you are so close! Thank you for stopping by! xo

  2. 11/01/2017 / 16:52

    It sounds like such an amazing hotel, nothing better than excellent service and extra details when staying at a hotel! Your New Year’s Eve dinner sounded so magical, glad you had a great time!
    x Emily
    http://shedoes.com.au

    • Stella Asteria
      11/01/2017 / 17:03

      Thank you Emily, it was fantastic! x

  3. Jo
    11/01/2017 / 18:11

    Luxury yachts and villas are two things I could easily get used to. There are marinas near here with lovely boats, and my mind goes into daydream mode when I gaze at the beauty of them. Britain (‘this Isle set in a silver sea’), like Greece, is a seafaring nation. In our blood, bones and genes.
    Stella. Your New Years Eve outfit is a Million miles beyond beautiful. You must have felt wonderful wearing such a creation.
    xoxo Jo

    • Stella Asteria
      11/01/2017 / 18:38

      Thank you my darling Jo! We were supposed to take a few photos of our looks head to toe later on, but it was so amazing up there, that the only thing we did was dancing, drinking and meeting wonderful people! ๐Ÿ˜€ Hope you are having a great week so far! xo

    • Stella Asteria
      11/01/2017 / 18:40

      And it’s even better! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. 11/01/2017 / 19:50

    This hotel looks so amazing! I love how modern looking it is, yet you still get that old world charm with that generous view. Oh my… Handwritten notes would definitely make me excited and I especially love the green bath amenities and how it contrasts so well with the white space. Vienna has been on my list for so long, and I was so close last year in Poland. So bummed I didn’t get to mosey on in to their border. Someday!!

    -Emily http://www.coatandcoffee.com

    • Stella Asteria
      11/01/2017 / 20:14

      Ah Emily, I really hope you get to visit too, I really regret not going earlier! Vienna is magical and Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom a true gem! Thanks for stopping by! x

  5. 11/01/2017 / 20:44

    What a wonderful review Stella! I really love the space in the room you stayed in and the rose on your pillow, what a lovely touch!

    You look utterly beautiful in your photographs, so elegant!

    Wishing you a very Happy New Year Stella and can’t wait to see more of your up and coming blog posts.

    Laura xo
    http://www.shehearts.net

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:10

      Thank you so much my dear Laura! Have a wonderful 2017 too and keep it up with your great blog! xo

  6. 11/01/2017 / 21:03

    I loved the idea of getting a handwritten note ! makes all the difference in this world.

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:08

      Exactly! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:08

      Thanks hun, yes it was really amazing! x

  7. 11/01/2017 / 21:50

    Oh as Vienna is one of my favorite cities, I am so happy you enjoyed it – at least almost – as you did Mykonos! ๐Ÿ™‚ This hotel looks so beautiful with its white and light interior! Did I mention I love your headpiece on that one picture – so cool!
    xx, Carmen – http://www.carmitive.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:08

      Thank you my dear Carmen! xo

  8. 11/01/2017 / 22:34

    Great post Stella!
    I understand better your sense of detail, presentation and beautiful things!
    Your hotel is amazing. Modern but welcoming, I always prefer hotels near the historic center, it is easier to visit and to move.
    I had already seen your publications on Instagram. It made me want to go back to Vienna. This city is incredible. Rich in history, there is so much to see and to do. I had been to see an opera. I still have some magic memories of it.
    xoxo
    Marie

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:08

      Thank you my dear Marie, I am really happy to read you enjoyed my post. You are so right, Sofitel Vienna is super modern, yet so warm and welcoming! As for the Opera, as a classical music lover, I could live in vienna forever and enjoy a different opera, concert etc every single night! I really hope you get to visit Vienna again soon and to stay in this gem of a hotel! xoxo

  9. 11/01/2017 / 22:38

    You look amazing, Stella. Your photos are always fabulous! Plus love the new blog layout. Perfection!
    Happy Wednesday!
    Much love, Len
    http://www.lenparent.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:05

      Thank you so much Len! Have a great day! x

  10. 11/01/2017 / 22:49

    Stella! This was so great to read! I love reading about people’s hotel experience! I am so happy to hear you had a good stay and you were treated well. That concierge staff sounds amazing and I love that they left you had written notes to confirm your appointments. I definitely look at service being very important when staying at a hotel so that’s a plus!

    Crissy
    http://www.whimsicalfawn.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:05

      Hi Crissy, you are right, the service is really important and for me the most important actually. I am really glad you enjoyed reading my review and hope you remember this beautiful hotel if you visit Vienna. Have a great day!

  11. 11/01/2017 / 23:04

    WOW, this sounds like a lovely hotel! I’ve only ever stayed at the Sacher Hotel in Vienna. The perk at that hotel is that every day, you get a miniature Sacher Torte (YUM!) on your pillow. Still, it is a traditional hotel, and I much prefer a modern hotel like the one you stayed in. I’ll definitely keep this in mind for the future. Das Loft looks superb too, I will DEFINITELY check that out.

    Your outfit for New Years was breathtaking… you look straight out of Great Gatsby! Your style is always superb, and you really nailed unique New Years eve glamour. Fabulous post, Stella. #ninemoredays ๐Ÿ˜€ xxx Love to you, Lisa

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:03

      Hello my dear Lisa! The Sacher Torte sounds very appealing to me as well, but I really enjoy the clean minimal design of Sofitel. There are many times I prefer classic over modern, like for example the Hotel de Russie in Rome, but it has to be something really authentic. I highly recommend Sofitel Vienna, especially to am minimalism lover like you! And of course I would also highly recommend spending the NYE at Das Loft. We actually met a lot of couples in the hotel, especially that night, and some of them told us that they are coming every year for NYE just for the impeccable view and ambience!
      Thank you also for your compliment on my outfit, my sister-in-law told me the exact same thing! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am always happy to read from you my dear Lisa! #8daysleft xxx

  12. 12/01/2017 / 00:59

    This all looks so amazing!! I also very much appreciate the personal touches when I visit a hotel! And that rose that was waiting on your bed everyday, so romantic!! Your New Year’s dinner also looked fabulous and the pictures are beautiful! If I ever go to Vienna, I will definitely stay in this hotel! Xx Susanne – http://bagatyou.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:58

      I hope you do my dear Susanne, I am very sure you will enjoy it as I did! Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful day! x

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:57

      Thanks!

  13. 12/01/2017 / 06:52

    This is amazing Stella! The clean minimalistic decor and the VIP accommodations sound so amazing! I love the experience of enjoying the amenities of the hotel as much as I do the traveling. And what a lovely place to dine! 360 panoramic view of Vienna has my interest capture, and you look amazing hun! Cheers to a great year ahead and more travel stories from you! xo~ Lena
    http://www.thewanderliste.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:51

      I am very glad you like it and I highly recommend this hotel! Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom really had it all, and the panoramic views of Vienna are incomparable! Thank you so much for your beautiful comments and wishes my dearest, all the best for you! <3

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:49

      ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:10

      ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. 12/01/2017 / 07:51

    Love reading reviews, this post is refreshing Stella. Love the neat room and white colour theme. You look great in white long shirt too. Hope you had a blast of 2017 so far!

    http://www.busyandfab.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:49

      I was sure you will like that post, I really enjoy reading your hotel reviews as well and I can really tell you love writing them! 2017 has started amazingly great for me, hope the same for you! x

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:48

      ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:45

      Yes Sonia! Sofitel Vienna offers amazing views from every single room and aspect! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:43

      Thanks Tina!

  15. 12/01/2017 / 10:38

    This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. I love the clean white minimalism in the rooms! Also, such a cool job you have–I am in completely envy!

    xx freshfizzle

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 12:43

      Thank you Tania, I am glad you like it and I also like the clean white minimal design of these rooms! I can say without doubt that I love my job! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 13:10

      Glad you like it!

  16. 12/01/2017 / 16:34

    Wow, this hotel sounds amazing! I’m BIG on customer service, so the fact that Claudia sent hand written notes confirming all your requests really speaks volumes to me. In fact, I’ve personally haven’t experienced this. The room looks beautiful and the view is absolutely beautiful. Also, I’m glad you had an overall great experience with the spa, which can sometimes be a hit or miss at hotels and resorts. Eddie and I tried one when we vacationed in The Dominican Republic and it wasn’t that impressive. Thanks for sharing, beauty, and I hope you’re having a wonderful week so far!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 18:25

      So true, the hand written notes were a very thoughtful idea which made us feel even more welcome at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. You are very right about the spa, it is something that it would be either a hit or miss at a hotel. Thanks so much for reading my hotel review my dear Jalisa, I am glad you like it! Have a lovely evening! xo

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 18:39

      Glad to hear that! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. 12/01/2017 / 19:14

    Dearest beautiful Stella! I see this is really a wonderful hotel and it is so pleasant you had such an enjoying stay there. You look wonderful on each single picture <3
    All the best to you!
    Kisses from Bavaria/Germany, Rena
    http://www.dressedwithsoul.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 20:22

      Thank you so much my dear Rena! Have a great day! x

  18. 12/01/2017 / 19:54

    The hotel looks fabulous! Thank you for sharing! I’m glad you were well looked after and enjoyed New Year’s Eve!
    xo Yvonne
    http://www.aproposh.com

    • Stella Asteria
      12/01/2017 / 20:22

      Thank you Yvonne! x

    • Stella Asteria
      13/01/2017 / 11:03

      Thanks

  19. 18/01/2017 / 22:13

    Hand written notes, easy check in, a gorgeous room , and a great view all in one place is so nice to come by. I’m glad you got to check out the hotel and experience such a luxurious stay on your trip. You simply beam in your photos and I adore that it looks like you had a great time. I know your outfits are always on point but now that I see your hotel selection is just as bomb as your coats has me giving you cool points all day!

    • Stella Asteria
      19/01/2017 / 11:47

      Aw thank you my dear Danielle! So glad you like it dear! Have a great day xoxo

  20. 19/01/2017 / 13:03

    I read this post a while ago but I forgot to leave behind a comment. I think the view says it all in Sofitel and I am happy you guys found it fitting, especially since you have so much experience with the industry.
    Glad you’ve enjoyed Vienna! I myself have been there with parents in law few years ago but due to the cold we hadn’t had the chance to see much. I definitely feel the need to go back after these wonderful posts.

    Cheers sweetie,
    T.
    https://tbymallano.com/

    • Stella Asteria
      19/01/2017 / 13:10

      Thank you Tatjana mou! We feel the same way too, 5 days in Vienna are really not enough, as you said very well, it is too cold to be able to go around the city all day hehe! Who knows maybe we will meet there as well! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. 30/01/2017 / 14:45

    Wow Stella, love this post. It seams an amazing place to stay it. My next visit to Vien I will definitely book this splendid hotel

    Thanks for sharing this )))

    Tanti baci
    Julia

    • Stella Asteria
      30/01/2017 / 16:06

      That’s great my dear Julia, I really hope you do as I am sure you will enjoy it as much as we did! Thank you for stopping by and have an amazing week ahead! xoxo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *